MOTC supports BARMM convening of Council of Leaders

Aug 10, 2023

This day marks the first time that the Bangsamoro Council of Leaders convened, on August 9, 2023, in Davao City. As one of the ministries in the region, MOTC Minister Atty. Paisalin P. Tago, CPA, lauds this convention highlighted by the oath-taking of the head of the Council of Leaders, Honorable Ahod B. Ebrahim, and the rest of the council members officiated by Antonio F. Lagdameo, the Special Assistant to the President, witnessed by the Secretary of the Department of Budget and Management Amenah F. Pangandaman, co-chair of the Intergovernmental Relations Body (IGRB).

This assembly aimed to tackle peace and order, harmonizing local government planning, ministries, and LGU’s coordination and implementation of regional projects.

‘’Makakaasa po kayong hindi pababayaan ng administrasyon ni Pangulong Ferdinand Romualdez Marcos ang BARMM.’’ Budget Secretary Pangandaman said in her message of support, which she quote that the BARMM’s focus resonates with the message of Bagong Pilipinas. She added, ‘’Ang Bagong Pilipinas para sa akin ay bansang may respeto sa lahat ng paniniwala. ’Ang Bagong Pilipinas na mas pinatatag ng pagkakaisa. ‘’

Meanwhile, Presidential Assistant David Diciano from the Bangsamoro Transformation Office represented the Office of the Presidential Adviser on Peace, Reconciliation, and Unity (OPAPRU).

Moreover, Republic Act No. 11054, Section 9, Article VI, provides the creation of the Council of Leaders that shall advise the Chief Minister of governance in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

It shall consist of the following members: (a) Chief Minister as head of the council; (b) Members of the Congress of the Philippines from the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region; (c) Provincial governors and mayors of chartered cities in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region; (d) Representatives of traditional leaders, non-Moro indigenous communities, women, settler communities, the Ulama, youth, and Bangsamoro communities outside of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region; and (e) Representatives of other sectors.