MOTC, DOTr launch Mindanao 'Friendship Route'

The Ministry of Transportation and Communications (MOTC), through the Bangsamoro Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (BLTFRB) in coordination with the Department of Transportation’s Regional Franchising and Regulatory Offices in Mindanao, embark additional point-to-point neighboring regions routes touching BARMM or known as 'Friendship Route' on Feb 23, inside the Marawi's Most Affected Area (MAA).

MOTC Minister Dickson P. Hermoso, along with the Ministry's Chief of Staff Amalia R. Javelosa, Land Sector Director Datunor G. Abutazil, Planning Officer V Jenny J. Sinsuat, and BLTFRB Regional Director Kaizer Nasilin with his team, take part in the event. Meanwhile, executives from DOTr, national and local leaders also grace the launching.

These routes cover (1) Laguindingan Airport Terminal, Misamis Oriental to Marawi City, Lanao del Sur; (2) Iligan City, Lanao del Norte to Marawi City, Lanao del Sur; (3) Davao City, Davao del Sur to Marawi City, Lanao del Sur via Kalilangan, Talakag, Cagayan de Oro City, Iligan City; (4)Pagadian City, Zamboanga del Sur to Marawi City, Lanao del Sur; (5) General Santos City to Dipolog City via Cotabato.

These newly launched routes aim to help the displaced families return to Marawi City and the area's economic, commercial activity, and rehabilitation by upgrading connectivity between neighboring regions. Such opening provides the opportunity for the movement of people and goods, thus helping the Mindanao economy regain its ground.

This undertaking is in line with the Ministry's strong commitment in helping improve the quality of life of the Bangsamoro and the community by providing fast, efficient, reliable, and safe transportation to the riding public.