CAAP officially hands over control of six airports to BARMM

Jan 11, 2023

The successful handover of the landside operations of Cotabato Airport, Sanga-Sanga Airport, Jolo Airport, Wao Airport, and Mapun Airport to the Bangsamoro Airport Authority (BAA) of the Ministry of Transportation and Communications pursuant to RA 11054, also known as the Bangsamoro Organic Law yesterday Jan 10, 2023 at Cotabato Airport marked a watershed moment for the Bangsamoro Government.

Minister Paisalin P. Tago stated in his message during the turn-over ceremony that he is overjoyed that, for the first time, the National controlled airports will now be under the jurisdiction of the BARMM. He thanked the National Government’s sincerity and commitment to devolving some of its powers to the Bangsamoro region.

“The peace process is working in the BARMM. This is the result of the fruitful discussion made by the government with the Bangsamoro. I thank the Philippine Government for the trust given to the BARMM.” said Chief Minister Ahod Balawag Ebrahim.

He then congratulated the BAA for keeping up working hand in hand and guaranteed work in the aviation authority to ensure connectivity in the air and to be geographically connected.